Wine Review: Bookwalter Winery’s Subplot No 29

 

Subplot No 29

A complex (and delicious) red blend.

 A couple of months ago, a friend and I went to Homeward Bound’s Puppy & Wine Walk. One of the participating wineries was Bookwalter,  a Washington winery over in Richland. All of their wines have a bookish theme, making them a delightful find for my month of writerly wines in honor of National Novel Writing Month.

Subplot No 29 is a red wine blend: 62% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Malbec, and 8% Syrah. I’m a Malbec girl (though admittedly not just a Malbec girl; I can’t pick a favorite varietal), so I knew the chances were high that I’d like this blend.

This wine is a touch sweet up front with aromas of plum and cherry. It’s deep and rich and finishes with a bit of a bite that might settle into a peppery note in time (I’m thinking that’s the Malbec). I’m tempted to stick a bottle at the back of my wine rack and let it sit for a couple of years. (It can be a test of willpower, right?)

This is one of those wines that’s best to have with food. It’s a bit too much on its own, but it’s lovely paired with a nice, creamy Brie and would probably be just as lovely paired with lamb or beef. Or some homemade lasagne. Or…wow, I’m making myself hungry.

Overall, this is a wine with substance that will likely develop more complexity (or subplots! …I know. I’m only funny in my head.) over time. I’ll be revisiting it later.

Leave a Reply

