Candied Ginger Applesauce

I’ve been on an applesauce kick lately. Making it (and, of course, eating it) is one of my simple pleasures. Plus, I love how it makes my kitchen smell. I’m basking in the scent of baked apples, cinnamon, and cardamon right now. Yum!

Stovetop applesauce is ridiculously easy and ridiculously quick to make. Since discovering those two facts, and also realizing I can choose what kind of apples to use and that I can control how much sugar (if any) and the mix of spices I add, I haven’t bought applesauce at the store. Prep time varies depending on your equipment. I broke my apple slicer and haven’t replaced it yet, so my prep time (about 25 minutes) was on the long end.

ginger_and_apples

You really can’t go wrong with ginger and apples.

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 medium sized apples (or 3-4 pounds)
  • 3-4 strips of candied ginger or (for no added sugar) 3-4 thin slices of fresh ginger
  • 1/2 cup dry Riesling
  • 1/2 cup water (you can omit the Riesling and use 1 cup water instead)
  • A splash of lemon juice
  • A punch of salt
  • Spices to taste (I use cinnamon and cardamon and start with about 1/4 of a teaspoon, taste as the sauce cooks and add more as needed)

    Instructions:


    1. Peel and core the apples and cut into 1/2 inch to 1 inch chunks
    2. Cut the ginger into tiny cubes (as small as you can make them)
    3. Mix wine, water, lemon juice, and salt
    4. Put apples and ginger into saucepan and add the liquid
    5. Sprinkle spices on top
    6. Heat until the liquid boils
    7. Cover and simmer 20-30 minutes, stirring frequently to keep the apples from cooking to the bottom of the pan and to break up the chunks. If needed, add additional water.
    8. The apples should break up during cooking, and stirring should be enough to make the sauce saucy, but if you like super smooth applesauce, let the sauce cool and then run through a blender.

    This recipe makes about 5 cups. This time around, I got 5 and a hair (for definitions of “a hair” ranging between a third and half of a cup; I may have eaten it without measuring). My plans for this batch of sauce is to take it into work for my afternoon snack so I don’t raid one of the many candy dishes in the office for a sweet pick-me-up.

    applesauce

    This is much better than a mini candy bar! (Right? Right.)

  • 4 thoughts on “Candied Ginger Applesauce

      • That’s right, I did! Did you dress it up with candied ginger? I remember that we had some in the pantry. Dad used to let me have a piece as a treat.

    Leave a Reply

    