Photo 101 Day 3: Water & Orientation

Today’s Photo101 theme was water:


We have different relationships to and stories about water: how it has saved or defeated us. How it reminds us of family vacations, outdoor adventures, or the hot summers of our childhood. How it might symbolize a place we’ve left behind, or a location we dream to go.

Water is my reset button. When I start to feel stressed, all I need to do is take a stroll along a lake, a river, the Sound, and ahhh, instant peace. And when I need a bigger reset, I head to the Olympic Peninsula and hole up at Lake Quinault or Lake Crescent, or spend some time wave-watching at the coast. So for today’s assignment, I decided to head down to Ruston Way in Tacoma for some shots of Puget Sound.

This was my favorite shot from today’s walk:

There is something amazingly relaxing about watching waves roll into shore, especially when they swirl around driftwood.

There is something amazingly relaxing about watching waves roll into shore, especially when they swirl around driftwood.

I also really like this one, particulary the shadows and the worn stones nestled in the top of the rotting pier remains and the tiny glimpse of the Port of Tacoma waaaay in the background:
photo101_day03_water01

Today’s assignment suggested that we rotate our camera and take the same shot from a different orientation, so I snapped a horizontal shot:
photo101_day03_02

2 thoughts on “Photo 101 Day 3: Water & Orientation

  1. I love that first one with the driftwood. And between the second and third, I like the second (vertical) on a bit better, although I can’t pinpoint exactly why. Maybe it has to do with foreshortening or something. But the verticality somehow just draws me in more than the horizontal one.

Leave a Reply

