So a mushroom walks into a bar…

We’ve had a mild winter (sorry, Northeast folks), and it’s already starting to take a springish turn here. The frogs are out and singing, and today, when I was out walking with my dad, I spotted my first mushrooms of spring. Naturally, I had to stop and take a photo.

mushrooms around branch

I think this is turkey tail. It’s very pretty, and almost hypnotic the way is swirls around the branch.

Or two.

mushrooms at base of tree

These lovelies were nestled at the base of a cedar tree.

Okay, much more than two. Fungus is very photogenic. (Or maybe I’m just my mother’s daughter.)

mushrooms on log

More (possible) turkey tails. As much as I like mushrooms, I’m not up on all the varieties.

I’m a moss girl, so it’s fitting that towards the end of our walk, I saw this beauty:

mossy fungus

Moss, stums, and mushrooms. Three of my favorite things!

February is normally one of my toughest months. By the time it comes around, I’m done with the gray and the rain and the dark, but as I mentioned, we’ve had a mild winter. Our fall wasn’t too bad, either. So far, this February has been, dare I say it, pleasant.

But I’m still excited for spring.

7 thoughts on “So a mushroom walks into a bar…

  1. Your mother thanks you for these photos! I don’t know if you’ll find what you need here, but the site I always check for anything flora- or fauna-oriented around here is the WA State Dept. of Fish & Wildlife: wdfw.wa.gov

    • Yes, the design lets me upload multiple header images and randomly rotates through them. With the exception of the ocean shot (which was taken at Pacific Beach), the images are from various trips to Mt. Rainier.

      I have a pocket guide to Western US mushrooms, but I’ll bookmark the state dept. of fish & wildlife site.

Leave a Reply

