It’s a walk in the park

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Re-springing Your Step.”

When I was a kid, my dad and I used to go bike riding on the weekends. It was our father-daughter bonding time. As I got older, school and swimming took up more of my time, and then I went to college (well) out of state and stayed there after graduation.

Now that my parents are retired, they’ve moved up here to Western Washington. Now I meet my dad once or twice a week when I get off work for afternoon walks. I’m enjoying this version of father-daughter bonding time more, I think, than I enjoyed our bike rides when I was a kid. For one, they’re still a novelty. For two, my dad is good company. It’s fun interacting with him as an adult.

And for three, we live in the age of camera phones. I take a lot of photos on our walks. Allow me to present a couple of my favorites:

Puget Sound from Titlow Park

A view of Puget Sound from Titlow Park.


Fall day at Snake Lake

A fall day at Snake Lake. The path is so inviting…


mushrooms for mom

The obligatory fungus photo for mom.

3 thoughts on “It’s a walk in the park

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Made Whole Again” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

