Menu Planning: The Return

It’s Thursday, so once again, I’m planning my menu for next week. I have the sneaking suspicion the Menu Planning Thursday blog post will become A Thing here. I’m pretty big on routines. And structure. And tasty food, so a dedicated meal planning evening puts me in a very happy place.

This week’s menu planning adventure is set on easy mode thanks to Blogging 101. I found some great recipes on some great blogs, so I didn’t have to crack a cookbook to plan my meals and assemble my grocery list. Let me spread the yummy food with some link love.

First up, my lunches to take to work: Crustless Mini Quiches with Caramelized Onions and Brie from Gen at Eat, Play, Clove.

I’m of the opinion one cannot go wrong with cheese (especially Brie and other delightfully gooey soft cheeses), onions, and eggs. Because of MLK Day, next week is a short week at work, so I know we’re going to be busier than normal the remaining four days. These mini quiches will be the perfect comfort food to help keep me on an even keel. They’re also the perfect vehicle to use up my last few leaves of spinach from this week. Yum!

I was looking through the Grubbecipes tag over at and came across this post from 2014. Here are the opening two paragraphs:

The Malay word β€œMee Rebus” is literally translated as boiled noodles in English, but it is hardly just any noodles as the name suggests.

It actually is a dish comprising of yellow egg noodles submerged in thick, hearty, savoury and sometimes spicy gravy. It is then garnished with boiled eggs, fried tofu, taugeh (bean sprouts), fresh spring onions and cilantros as well as a handful of sliced up fresh green chillies. The dish goes well with fried chicken and bergedils, too!

There are yummy photos in the post, too, but I was sold on the gravy description. It is cold and rainy here–perfect weather for thick, hearty gravy, so I knew I had to try it. I clicked through to Ann’s original recipe and was more determined to try it. When I saw that the rain that rolled in today is supposed to stay for a spell, well, that settled that. The only thing that might give me trouble is the galangal. My normal grocery store only carries ginger, but there are no shortage of Asian markets in my area, so I think I’ll take a different route home tomorrow and do my shopping at one of them.

And finally, something that just popped up on my radar today: Italian Meatballs with Red Onion and Balsamic Sauce from Cooking up the Pantry. I’m planning to try my hand at making mozzarella cheese this weekend and wanted something Italianish to pair with it. It’s as if the universe directed me to Ros’s blog for a reason. πŸ˜‰

(I am also planning to try my hand at making ricotta cheese from the leftover mozzarella whey. If that goes as planned, I’ll be making baked apples stuffed with honey walnut ricotta for dessert. I’ll be sharing that recipe. Oh yes.)

8 thoughts on “Menu Planning: The Return

    • I will let you know! I ended up getting tangled up at work later than I planned to be, so I’m going grocery shopping tomorrow. That’s probably for the best. If I have to hit a couple of different stores, I’ll have the time and energy for it.

  1. I always feel so much better when I know what dinner is going to be and by default what lunch will be. Do you use any kind of planner? Do you do any freezer cooking? Both of those make tings even easier for me. Good luck with your mozzarella making πŸ™‚

    • I don’t use a planner for meals (yet). So far, I’ve found that the weekly menu planning keeps me on track. I do a lot of freezer reheating. I only cook for one and tend to work with recipes in the 2-4 serving range. I usually end up freezing the remaining portions for later.

      • I want to get to a point where I am using one so that I can “recycle” menus- the theory being less work down the road. Freezer reheating is awesome for lunches and I am starting to learn more about “dump meals”. Looking for wad to you Thursday Posts πŸ™‚

      • Do you use Evernote? I’ve been keeping my grocery lists in it specifically so I can recycle some of my favorites. Plus, since I keep Evernote on my phone, I don’t forget my grocery lists anymore & realize that I forgot a key ingredient when ai get home & get ready to cook.

Leave a Reply

